Over Fifty Countries Have Issued Bans on Cryptocurrency

Published Dec 24 2021 at 9:05 PM GMT
  • More than fifty countries have placed bans on cryptocurrency, according to a report from the Law Library of Congress.
  • The November report served as an update to research that was published in 2018.
  • Since 2018, "the number of countries found to have issued cryptocurrency bans has increased significantly", the report said.
  • As of November 2021, nine countries have placed an 'absolute ban" on crypto, meaning that it's completely illegal.
  • Algeria, Bangladesh, China, Egypt, Iraq, Morocco, Nepal, Qatar and Tunisia have all joined China in outlawing crypto.



  • Published Dec 24, 2021 9:05 PM GMT